Thoughtful Thursday


This is my first “Thoughtful Thursday”. I am not sure how/where to start.

I will start with the fact that I found this idea from Kayleigh’s Story. I am not entirely sure how I ended up there…I have a click addiction.

I used to be an NICU nurse.Two separate hospitals at two different times. I loved it. I love the babies- I love the devotion of the parents (well, most of them). I love that even though it is scary, heartbreaking, and unplanned- there is still happiness and joy for the parents.

It amazes me that the strength of the parents is Herculean. Emotional and physical. I have seen parents sleep on stools with their faces pressed against the isolettes, necks bent at unnatural angles. I have heard the phone calls to family to make sure they get the bills paid, and the thankfulness in their voices when they find out it has already been done. I have seen the heartbreak when the parents find out their little baby had an A&B (apnea and bradycardia), and must start the 5 day countdown again to go home.

Of all the people I admire in this world- I have utmost admiration for parents of NICU babies. Hats off to them. They are awesome parents despite what has been thrown at them.

I have always felt drawn to the preemies- my little brother was born at 30 something weeks (my mother didn’t know she was preggers- long story) when I was 9. That formed my little mind and heart. I wanted to be a preemie nurse. I had the chance to work at a HUGE University Hospital and loved it. I moved, and unfortunately the next NICU was not a good fit for me.

My heart is always with the babies…and the parents.

2 responses to “Thoughtful Thursday

  1. A Few Good Sperm

    Wow, I don’t think I could do what you did, but those stories are very inspirational. Thanks for sharing.

  2. itsazooaroundhere

    What a beautiful post. Hats off to YOU too for all that hard work and emotion. Wow.

Leave a Reply

