Amish Friendship Bread.


First off- I had a couple people ask about the Amish Friendship Bread. Normally you get the starter from a friend in a plastic bag (or plastic tub- like a large butter dish loosely covered). I am NOT going to try and mail expanding yeast USPS, so I instead I am going to give you the recipe and pass along my friendship also….trust me- this is GOOD. My husband would rather eat it than eat dinner. šŸ™‚

Amish Friendship Bread Starter:
1 packet active dry yeast ( 2 1/4 tsp)
1/4 cup warm water (110 degrees)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
1 cup warm milk (110 degrees)

In a small (NON-METAL)bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Let stand for 10 minutes.
In a 2 quart glass, plastic or ceramic container (do not use a metal container or utensils), combine 1 cup flour and 1 cup sugar.
Mix thoroughly or the flour will lump when the milk is added. Slowly stir in the milk and the yeast mixture. Cover loosely and let stand at room temperature.

Consider this day 1 of the 10 day cycle.
Day 1 – Do nothing. This is the day you receive the batter(or the starter is made). Make sure the bag is dated.
Day 2 – mush the bag
Day 3 – mush the bag
Day 4 – mush the bag (yawn)
Day 5 – Add 1 cup each flour, sugar and milk. Mush the bag. (again)
Day 6 – mush the bag
Day 7 – mush the bag
Day 8 – mush the bag
Day 9 – mush the bag
Day 10 – Pour entire contents into a non-metallic bowl. Add 1 1/2 cup flour, 1 1/2 cup sugar and 1 1/2 cup milk – add milk last. Mix with a non-metallic spoon.

Measure 1 cup of batter into 4 1-gallon ziploc bags, with 1 bag each for three of your friends and 1 cup for your own loaves. ( You will have 2 cups left after this to make your bread on day 10)

Give friends the instructions for Day 1 through Day 10 and the following recipe for baking the bread.

To Make Bread
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. To the remaining batter in the bowl, add:
1 cup oil
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 cup sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
2 cups self-rising flour (*see variation)
1 Large box instant vanilla pudding
* If using all purpose flour, add 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, and 1/2 tsp salt to above recipe

Grease two loaf pans. Mix an additional 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon in a bowl.
Use 1/2 of sugar mixture to dust pans. Pour batter evenly into pans and sprinkle with remaining sugar.

Bake at 325 degrees F for 45 minutes to 1 hour. Cool 10 minutes, remove from pans. Makes two loaves of Amish Friendship Bread.

You may add 1 cup chopped nuts and/or raisins.
You can exchange chocolate pudding for vanilla.
You may add chopped apples.
You can also omit cinnamon and pudding and add 3 mashed bananas.

This last time I didn’t want to bequeath ALL my friendship bread, and I wanted to make more loaves…so I measured how much of the starter was used on Day 10 to make the bread…and it is 2 Cups.

So what I did was ladle 1 cup into two Ziplocs…then I separated out 2 cups into different bowls and made two different types of bread. One the recipe above, and the other the variation with the chocolate pudding. Both super yummy. Now I have two starter bags I am mushing.

YUMMMYYYY!!!!!!
How To Eat A Cupcake is great site I found with some variations. Just looks like a cool site in and of itself!!! All about baking and such.

5 responses to “Amish Friendship Bread.

  1. A Few Good Sperm

    My husband’s aunt gave us some starter a while back and I have to admit I was too lazy to go through the process. Maybe I’ll start some of my own. Funny how the schedule reminds me of IVF!

  2. Somewhat Ordinary

    I love Amish Friendship Bread. I’ve gotten it before and it is very tasty…I might have to try your recipe!

  3. This sounds yummy — thanks for sharing!

    ICLW
    makingmemom.blogspot.com

  4. yummy!

  5. How To Eat A Cupcake

    It’s totally fine in the mail! I mailed 3 of them! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

