Show and Tell!!!


For my show and tell I am going to tell you about my success in installing a new printer. You would think that you just plug in a cord and VIOLA! Printing resumes.

NADA!!!

My printer died last week while trying to print out substantiation forms for my FSA. They just really don’t want to pay for my last bill from the RE of $750. Whatev.

So I do some Consumer Reports research, spend almost a week shopping around, etc. etc.

I finally decide on an HP 6500 Wireless printer. It was half of at Sam’s- that is what pushed me over the edge and I bought it. I looked at the reviews online…”Super Easy set up!” “Had it printing in 20 minutes”. Ugh. I think that was Mr. Hewitt and Mr. Packard that wrote all the good reviews.

Last week I tried and tried to hook it up. I managed to EF up my IP settings and my computer wouldn’t recognize the router…or vice versa,. THANK GOD my husband wasn’t on call. He would have gone to Wal-Mart for a new one that second. I was on the phone with my brother (computer guru) for an HOUR trying to figure out how to fix what I did. UGH. I finally got online. PHEW.
I went out of town for the weekend, and that gave it another go starting yesterday. I kept doing the SAME thing over and over and over again. I finally did the online support (chat).
O.M.F.(oh, MOTHER FUCKER!!!) Annamirial in India kept asking me info I already gave. I ended up figuring part of it on my own and I just disconnected.

After literally 2 hours of doing the same thing OVER AND OVER AND OVER again…for some reason it finally worked. I can now print.

On my printer in the office…while I am out here in the living room watching the Prez on T.V.

YEAH ME!!!!

I think I am about to do some commenting. 🙂
12 responses to “Show and Tell!!!

  1. Congrats!
    Hubby has been dying for a wireless printer forEVER since we both use laptops and carry them around the house. We have a perfectly good printer/scanner though, so that ain't gonna happen any time soon :).

  2. Good for you. Tech mix ups like that can be so maddening.

  3. I think you are very brave to even attempt such a thing. I am completely technically challenged.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog!!

    Take care!

    ICLW

  4. Wade and Ericka

    I'm chuckling at this cuz this is *totally* me and I would totally start sweating blood until I figured it out so I wouldn't have to ask my husband. Hehehe…we were actually checking printers to go with our new laptop, hmmmm, I never thought of Sam's….

    Oh! Thanks for visiting my page! I'm still a pig in a blanket…for how much longer, who knows?

  5. Wade and Ericka

    Oh man, I just tried to leave a comment and I don't know if I did so I'm not gonna write what I just wrote, but trust me I can relate to you on this!!

    Thanks for visiting my page!! I'm still in my same situation as yesterday (and for the last 10 months!) hehehe.

    Ericka
    iclw

  6. Great work! I am always so proud of myself when I accomplish something technical!! 🙂 You are pretty impressive!
    ~Michelle (ICLW)

  7. YAY for beating technology!!

  8. Hooray for telling that printer who's boss! I was just looking at printers today!

  9. Beautiful Mess

    WOOHOO you have a working printer!!! You're a braver woman then I. I would've given up, no that's not true. I wouldn't have even ATTEMPTED to tackle it. Good for you!
    *HUGS*

  10. Yay you for being triumphant over the printer! I totally understand that frustration… It happens to me every time I get a new gadget.

  11. Way to go!

  12. Technology is only good when it works.
    Glad you were able to finally print…sucks it was sucha PIA!!!
    *iclw*

Leave a Reply

