Girls Weekend


So after talking to my mother the other day and finding out she was coming down to visit ME the weekend I was going to try a covert trip up to be with my sister….I told my sister either Mom knows what is going on, or I can’t come….or….both Mom and I go up there to be with her and just make it a girls weekend. 🙂

She said yes!! WOO HOO!! Like she would say no, but I am glad she did. Mom and I are flying up there the 6th and going to visit with my niece and nephew, then that Wednesday we will drive down to the hospital for her appointments on the 10th and 11th.(Th, Fr) Mom and I will leave on Sunday. We will have time to spend together- just the three of us. Mom and her two daughters. We have never done this- and have always said we would. It is sad that it is taking something like this to make it happen, but I am thankful that we can do it. I am thankful we have the funds to be able for me to do it. I am thankful that I have a job that allows me to be flexible. I am thankful that I have such a wonderful Mom. I am truly blessed.

Mom and I are determined to make this situation a “make lemonade shooters out of lemons” kinda weekend. We already decided that my sister will be the DD since she will be having surgery and all. Then Friday we will just go to the hotel bar and get soused since our DD will be post anesthesia and isn’t allowed to drive….hee hee…just kidding. Maybe just a glass or two. 🙂

Know you all know where I got my love of wine from. 🙂

Other that that I have been uber busy with work. We have people dropping like flies (staff members) with the flu. I don’t think the vaccine will be ready in time. It is so virulent that I think it will mutate just a smidgen so it won’t work as well….but of course I am just an insomniac with an overactive imagination. Who asked me?

I heard from an IRL friend (Rainy, for anyone keeping a list of all my friends.) that is a fellow IF-er. She is doing great with her pregnancy and I am so happy for her! I know she reads this blog- so give her a little shout out!!! She is right shy of 27 weeks- and I am so happy for her. (uh, ‘RIGHT SHY’?!? WTF?!? Can you TELL I am from the South?!?!) She went through many many years to get to where she is, and she and her DH deserve it. She has been a great source of strength, encouragement and hope for me. THANK YOU GIRLIE!!!

MUAH!!! XOXOXO

7 responses to “Girls Weekend

  1. I'm so glad you and your mom will be able to be there for your sister! And for each other, too.

  2. Your girls weekend sounds great! I'm sure your sister will be thrilled to have you both there to take her mind of the surgery.

  3. Fun! Love girl weekends 🙂 Enjoy!

  4. Congrats to your friend!!! Whoo Hoo!!

    And prayers for your sister. I hope your trip goes well and that her surgery is a success.

  5. Have fun on your girls weekend!!! Thinkin' about you all!!!

  6. Your sister is in my thoughts! Thank God it's only at the basal stage right now (I say "only" because we both know that full-blown melanoma is worlds more evil).

    Have fun bonding with your family-ladies!

  7. OH that's great that you and your mom are going! More support for your sister and you and your mom will be each other's support as well.

    You know- I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE wine. Have some for me! I'll be thinking of you and your family.

Leave a Reply

