The Plan


Okay, I have so much I need to post! This past weekend was crazy busy, but it all turned out okay.

Rewind to last Thursday. I told The King that since he has been through the ringer he could rent a “cool” car to go up for our appointment last weekend. We had to drive separate cars b/c he was coming later than  me, and he had to leave Saturday for work. I didn’t leave until Monday (yesterday)

He was going to get a convertible but Alamo couldn’t find the keys (???). They gave a free upgrade to a 2010 Camero!! WOOO HOOOO!!!

~Friday: I saw Dr. 5000 to figure out our plan. My husband got to go with me, and I am SO GLAD he did! Dr.5000 explained to the Kingman that with SCO(sertoli cell only testicle) there is about a 0.5% chance of finding some, and even less that the sperm would result in a good fertilized egg. Woah. He said he has not ever seen a case of a live birth from a case like ours.  That really helped clear up a lot of The Kings questions.

Here is the kicker: NO IVF!!!!  I was thinking he would recommend IVF from the start secondary to my endometriosis, but he said that he didn’t want to put my body through that if it wasn’t necessary. He said that he didn’t want to the IUI with my natural cycle, but just ‘give me a boost’. I hold in my hand (okay in my wallet) a prescription for Letrozole.  I haven’t priced it yet- have any of you used this? Know what it costs? The cost of IUI is $295. yup. only $295.

I am beyond ecstatic.

The Doc said when we look through the Donors and pick one, have it shipped to them. They will prep the Troopers and prepare them for the IUI. They want unwashed b/c they like to wash and prepare the sample themselves (is that normal?)   After we pick the donor and we are ready, I take the letrozole on days 3-5 of my cycle. I test for ovulation, and call the day of my LH surge by 3pm, and plan on coming in for my IUI the next day.

THIS is going to be interesting.  #1. I gave my super expensive fertility monitor to my cousin who is having trouble getting pregnant. I thought I would never need it- b/c we would be doing IVF and would be triggered to ovulate. Ooops. I can’t ask for it back! Anyone have one I could borrow or buy?!?!?!   She has been trying since September and I can’t take it back. 😦

#2 I live 4.5 hours away from where we are getting our treatment done. My husband has a seriously busy ass, inflexible job. He can’t just “call in sick” for a day. On any given day there are 20 to 30 patients expecting to see him. They don’t understand when he has an emergency, etc. They think doctors never have a life outside of work. Sigh. I am already stressing that The Kingman will not be there. 😦

We got a brochure from a huge sperm bank at the REs office, and The Kingman was astounded at all the samples in there. He was getting pretty excited over it- even made the comment that “It only makes sense to get our children from an online profile, since we found each other from an online profile.” 🙂 LOL! (We met on eHarmony)

He is doing better every day. We are reading some books suggested to us. “Helping the Stork”, and “Mommies, Daddies, Donors and Surrogates”. I didn’t think he would read them, but he is! YEAH!

As far as when we are going to do it, The Kingman said he is still grieving. He thinks that he will be ready when we go from “I wish we could have a baby that is ‘really‘ ours” to “We are having ‘our’ baby.” Of course I popped of with “How long do you think it is going to take you to get there, b/c I am already there” I just wanted to make sure it wasn’t going to be another year. It took him a year to do his MESA. He said it wouldn’t be that long….let’s hope it isn’t.

So that is where we stand.

IUI after we pick out a donor and my husband is ready. 🙂

I am looking for some counselors in the area for us to go to, and The Kingman has agreed to go (he actually suggested it)

Now I wait. Again. STORY OF MY LIFE!!!!!!!

I will post soon about the BabyPalooza weekend. I must go be productive for at least a few hours. LOL!

11 responses to “The Plan

  1. Shopping for donors is a lot like shopping for cars.
    And different banks, offer different stuff for free and differ a little in how they do things.
    Good luck!!
    YAY for the free upgrade!

  2. Sounds very exciting! I’m glad you got those books – they were so helpful! D read them, and so did my BIL and his wife, just to make sure we all were on the same page. Have fun looking at the online profiles!

  3. The price on “price a drug” on my insurance page shows $429.50 (price w/o insurance) but thats for a 30 day supply of 2.5mg tablet. So I guess you only need 3 tablets?

    Glad your husband is doing well. It sounds like you two are excited to move to this path. We looked into donor. I couldn’t believe it was like $600 for the sperm!

  4. Oh My goodness – That is a ton of information to process, but I can only imagine how wonderful it feels to have an action plan that is so straight-forward. I am smiling for you today.

    And I am thrilled that your IUI quote is so reasonable. I’ve been quoted 2-3k per cycle for dIUI. geez – it might be cheaper for me to fly to your clinic!

    If you have questions, there is an awesome forum for dIUI gals over at: http://forums.fertilitycommunity.com/intrauterine-insemination-iui/2020185164-iui-donor-sperm-folks-share-your-stories.html.

    My love and I have been seeing a couples therapist since we got the azoos diagnosis. It can be hard to find a good therapist, and it seems that there are so few who understand IF, especially MFI. For me our weekly sessions have been really helpful, and I think that he has really benefited too. I was so afraid that this journey would hurt our relationship, and he means more to me than anything. I didn’t ever want to lose sight of ‘us’.

    Congrats on the action plan! 🙂

  5. I am so excited that you guys are getting closer!! Picking a donor is a bit crazy, but check out different banks because they offer differwnt things & their are so many donors out there you want to find a great match. If you have any questions you know you can e-mail me anytime!

  6. So glad you are back to blogging! I know it’s a lot to take in all at once. You don’t necessarilty need a fertility monitor, my RE’s office said to NOT use those, but to use the kind with the smiley face. Our clinic said to get either washed or unwashed, but their washing fee was more than the bank’s, so we opted for prewashed.

    Our counselor told me something interesting about the waiting. When your in IF mode, you think once you get pregnant, the waiting is over, but really it just starts again, waiting to see if the baby is healthy, waiting the nine months, etc. That is just the fact of our life, waiting.

  7. How great to be able to go to iui! I’m jealous! I hope that he’s ready soon and you can move forward!

  8. Oh my gosh, I love his comment about finding your children online the same way you found each other :).
    I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer!

  9. I’m so excited for you guys! Lots of stuff to comment on…

    My clinic recommended using the simple pee sticks to figure out ovulation. No need for the expensive fertility monitor. I used the Answer brand (30 days of sticks per box), but I know there are separate sticks that you can get online for like a dollar a pop.

    With picking out a donor, we made a list of what the most important factors were to us and then went through the search engines accordingly. I really like our sperm bank, they were very easy to work with.

    Regarding the grief, I think that’s ongoing. The intensity lessens as time goes by, and it’s not something that either of you will face every day; it just crops up here and there.

    I think both of you going to a counselor is a great idea. Our clinic required us to meet with a counselor, but we also did several joint sessions with each of our individual therapists. In any event, it was really helpful.

Leave a Reply

