L…


Today L is for Lawyer.

We are pretty blessed that through Kingman’s benefits we can be part of Hyatt Legal plans for DIRT CHEAP. If you have never heard of it- check it out.  First see if your work has it, if not you can purchase for $395 for a plan year. There are numerous states that it is not available in (Why???) {{Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, or Wisconsin.}}

So, if you are in one of those- don’t worry about scoping it out. I don’t understand why it isn’t available- but so be it. The plan covers a lot more if it is employer sponsored than if it is bought individually, but isn’t that the case with everything?

It seems like a like, but let me tell you. If you have to do ANYTHING with a lawyer- you can find out the charges add up quickly. My hubs had to get a lawyer look over a work contract once. 30 minute document review/revision and phone consult =$1500. This was when he was still in school, so THANK GOD he has supportive parents. Ugh.

We pay around 4.95 a pay period…which ends up being around $130 a year. TOTALLY WORTH IT!

I met with the lawyer for us to write our wills, living will, etc. This was encouraged b/c we met with our CPA last week, and he almost had a heart attack when he heard we didn’t have wills or provisions in place. HA HA. Honestly- I don’t think the family is going to fighting over a 1998 Jeep with 165,000 miles on it, or an Accord with 185,000 miles on it. I digress.

We named who will be the decision makers of everything(financially and medically)  if we both die, or one of us dies and the other in coma. I guess I never really thought about all that before, but it is important to make. As far as beneficiary stuff- we don’t have anything! He was asking if we had collectable art work, coins, antique furniture….HA HA HA.

“I bequeath my lifetime supply of OPKs to my 15 year old niece- may you never need to use them”

“I bequeath my $10 target picture frame to my mom”

“I award custody of my Gnome Doug to my best friend. Travel far and wide”

Yeah- ridiculous right? LOL!

It is necessary though….I suppose. 🙂

Leave a Reply

