Crrrrap….with a Silver lining


That is said with an Irish brogue.

I went in yesterday (4/21/11) for a scheduled monthly ob appt. And ultrasound.
Got the us first,  and I pretty much knew something was up immediately.  The tech wasn’t chipper and talkative. After 20 seconds and seeing her brow furrowed she said. “Have you been contracting?”
Me: a little, I have had a stomach bug.
Her: I have to stop right now- your cervix is funneling and I have to get the doctor. 

Okay, maybe there was more, but idk. That was the gist of it.

,his is the readers digest version for those That don’t follow me on twitter (which btw is he beat way to keep up withme. LOL)

My cervix was 0.6

Like basically nothing. Nada. A push away from a toilet birth, and a likely demise.

I was rushed to the hospital, prepped for surgery and got it sewn shut. Apparently by the time they got in there the doc could see the bag of fluid.

I got a spinal and they tugged and pulled and managed to get a cerclage in. Not sure what type it is called, but he said That he sewed like around the cervix and then cinched it tight Like a purse.

All I k ow is that the spinal is wearing of, I am having bad cramps and contractions. Trebitiline sucks all the sleepiness my morphine pca is giving g me. The King is asleep.

Which is good bc he is on call starting 7am tomorrow until Tuesday and all his partners are out of town.

Murphy’s Law eh?

My mom is coming down

More later….

The silver lining is That my doc almost didnt get another US bc everything was PERFECT at the last appointment….but she wanted one more since I had an IUI.

THABK GOD!

13 responses to “Crrrrap….with a Silver lining

  1. Oh Thank GOD they did another ultrasound! Did you have any symptoms??? How very scary. I hope this is all taken care of soon!!

  2. Take it easy, I’m thinking of you.

  3. Good they gave you a purse string quickly! You make sure you rest up and keep that baby inside!
    X

  4. OH MY GOODNESS!! It sounds like a McDonald, since they most likely didnt have enough cervix to do a Shirodkar. You are on bedrest right? Remainder of pregnancy?

    Terrifying! Please, email me if you need anything! Care packages or just to talk!

  5. I’m so glad they decided to do the extra US! Stay down and take it easy. I’ll be thinking positive thoughts for you and the oat.

  6. Glad they did the extra scan. Thinking good thoughts!

  7. Wow, that is just crazy and fortunate that you got the extra scan. I am wishing hard that you are sewed up tight for another 14 weeks or so. I’m curious why having an IUI would prompt this? I had an IUI and I’ve read about lots of other women who had IUI that don’t get extra scans simply for that reason. What a blessing that you did though!!!

  8. Oh my goodness. I’m so glad you got that scan and they sewed you up in time. I hope things calm down and baby stays put!

  9. I am so so thankful you had an appointment yesterday! So glad everything is OK–was thinking a bunch about you yesterday!

  10. i cannot say how happy i am that you were given a scan yesterday, that simple measure could have very well saved sweet oat’s life.
    im glad it all went well and that mom is with you now. it just goes to show you that even if your husband is a doctor, you still need your mom when you’re having a hard time.
    i hope the next couple days pass uneventfully and you are able to get back to yourself soon.
    xoxo
    lis

  11. How very scary. So glad that you had the u/s! Hoping for a smooth ride from here on out without any PTL or other curveballs. Terb sucks, yes, but hopefully it will continue to be effective. Hoping that Kingman doesn’t get a lot of calls this weekend so he can be with you.

  12. OMG!! I’m so, so thankful you had that extra scan! Stay flat, quiet and relaxed, and keep bakin’ that baby! Let us know how you are. Thinking of you!

  13. Yikes! I’m glad they were able to catch it early and do something about it….how scary!

Leave a Reply

